East lancs CCG logo

| | | |  


On Friday 1st July 2022 clinical commissioning groups (CCG's) across the country were closed and were replaced by new NHS organisations known as Integrated Care Boards.

Therefore, NHS East Lancashire CCG no longer exists and has been replaced (along with the othe seven CCGs in Lancashire and South Cumbria) by the new NHS Lancashire and South Cumbria Integrated Care Board (ICB)

Please visit the new ICB website

Primary Care Networks

Primary Care Networks (PCNs) are groups of practices that work together with community, mental health, social care, pharmacy, hospital and voluntary services in their local areas.

Primary care networks build on the core of current primary care services and enable greater provision of proactive, personalised, coordinated and more integrated health and social care. Clinicians describe this as a change from reactively providing appointments to proactively care for the people and communities they serve. Where emerging primary care networks are in place in parts of the country, there are clear benefits for patients and clinicians.

Across Pennine Lancashire (Blackburn with Darwen and East Lancashire), there are 13 PCNs:  

Blackburn with Darwen

  • Blackburn East
  • Blackburn North
  • Blackburn West
  • Darwen

East Lancashire

  • Burnley East
  • Burnley West
  • Hyndburn Central
  • Hyndburn Rural
  • Pendle East
  • Pendle West
  • Ribblesdale
  • Rossendale East
  • Rossendale West

The below animation explains the concept of primary care networks (PCNs) and how this new way of working enables health and other services to work together to provide better access for patients.